Indian vs Australia Border-Gavaskar Trophy prolonged, to now be played as…


For the primary time since 1991-92, Australia and India will compete throughout a five-Test sequence this summer time.

The Test rivalry between India and Australia will get larger subsequent summer time because the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Cricket Australia (CA) introduced the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will be played as a five-Test sequence.

For the primary time since 1991-92, Australia and India will compete throughout a five-Test sequence this summer time. The prolonged sequence for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will be a headline of the 2024-25 dwelling summer time schedule set to be launched within the coming days.

Jay Shah, BCCI secretary, mentioned, “The BCCI remains steadfast in its dedication to preserving the rich heritage of Test Cricket, a format we hold in the highest esteem.

“Our ongoing collaboration with Cricket Australia in extending the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to five Tests underscores our collective commitment to nurturing and elevating Test cricket’s significance.

“This extension echoes our shared vision to amplify the essence of Test cricket and uphold its legacy. As India and Australia, come together, we anticipate an enthralling spectacle that will captivate fans worldwide with its intensity and excitement.”

Mike Baird, CA Chair, added, “We are absolutely delighted the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been extended to five Tests given the intense rivalry between our two great cricketing nations and the excitement this creates.

“The eyes of the cricket world will be on Australia and I’m confident Pat Cummins’ World Champion team can overcome the skill and depth of the Indian team who played so brilliantly to win the last two series here and reclaim the trophy.

“We’re grateful for the collaboration with the BCCI and I echo Mr Shah’s sentiments about the pre-eminence of Test cricket. We look forward to hosting their team, officials and fans throughout what will be a tremendous series and a highlight of a packed summer of cricket.”

In the final 4 Test sequence between the 2 groups, India has been the extra dominant crew, successful every time. This consists of successful the Test sequence in Australia in back-to-back years, from 2018–19 and 2020–21 (each by similar 2-1 margins).

In 2018-19, India grew to become the primary Asian crew to win a Test sequence in Australia.

The extension of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy for this and future sequence recognises the standing of the nations which contested the 2023 ICC World Test Championship last in addition to their enduring dedication to the sport’s preeminent worldwide format.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by DNA employees and is revealed from IANS)

Nilesh Desai
Nilesh Desai
The Hindu Patrika is founded in 2016 by Mr. Nilesh Desai. This website is providing news and information mainly related to Hinduism. We appreciate if you send News, information or suggestion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this