Voting begins for 49 seats right now; Amethi, Rae Bareli among high-profile contests


In Phase 5 of the Lok Sabha elections 2024, key candidates embody Rahul Gandhi, Smriti Irani, Rajnath Singh and others.

Polling has begun in 49 constituencies in six states and two UTs within the fifth part of Lok Sabha elections right now. It will determine the electoral destiny of a number of distinguished leaders like former Congress president Rahul Gandhi, Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Smriti Irani and former J-Ok chief minister Omar Abdullah. 

It is one other necessary part for the BJP as over 40 of those seats had been with the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Voting may also be held in 35 meeting constituencies in Odisha, the place BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is among the candidates.

49 Lok Sabha seats in Phase 5

Among the seats going to polls, 13 are in Maharashtra, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, seven in West Bengal, 5 in Bihar, three in Jharkhand, 5 in Odisha, one in J-Ok and the lone seat in Ladakh. This spherical covers the least variety of seats (49) within the seven-phase elections.

Over 8.95 crore folks, together with 4.26 crore females and 5,409 third-gender electors, are eligible to vote on this spherical and 9.47 lakh polling officers have been deployed throughout 94,732 polling stations. So far, the final 4 phases have registered a complete voter turnout of 66.95 per cent.

READ | Swati Maliwal assault case: AAP says police seized CCTV DVR from CM Kejriwal’s house, planting tales to…

Other distinguished candidates embody Union ministers Piyush Goyal (Mumbai North, Maharashtra), Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti (Fatehpur, UP) and Shantanu Thakur (Bangaon, WB); LJP (Ram Vilas) chief Chirag Paswan (Hajipur, Bihar), Shiv Sena’s Shrikant Shinde (Kalyan, Maharashtra), and BJP’s Rajiv Pratap Rudy and RJD president Lalu Prasad’s daughter Rohini Acharya (each Saran, Bihar).

In Uttar Pradesh, Rajnath Singh (Lucknow), Irani (Amethi), Jyoti, Kaushal (*49*) (Mohanlalganj) and Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma (Jalaun) are the 5 Union ministers within the fray. Voting may also happen for the meeting bypolls to the Lucknow East meeting constituency.

Rahul Gandhi, who has contested from Wayanad in Kerala, can also be within the combat for Rae Bareli, a Congress stronghold represented by his mom Sonia Gandhi since 2004. The BJP has fielded UP minister Dinesh Pratap Singh.

Around 45.1 crore electors have exercised their franchise within the final 4 phases. Polling for 23 states and Union territories and 379 seats has been accomplished to date. The sixth and seventh phases are on May 25 and June 1 respectively. The counting of votes is on June 4.

(With inputs from PTI)

Nilesh Desai
Nilesh Desai
The Hindu Patrika is founded in 2016 by Mr. Nilesh Desai. This website is providing news and information mainly related to Hinduism. We appreciate if you send News, information or suggestion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Over 1000 individuals, including 90 Indians, die in Mecca amid extreme heatwave

Due to the extreme heatwave, temperatures have mounted...

This former cricketer joins Gautam Gambhir in race for India’s next head coach

The present head coach of the Indian cricket...

Stock market closes in inexperienced, Sensex rose 140 points at 77,478.93, Nifty above 23,550

Stock market at this time: The inventory market...

Explainer: Why rupee hit record low against US dollar

The Indian rupee fell to an unprecedented low...