NCP moves disqualification petition against Ajit Pawar, 8 other MLAs


The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has moved a petition earlier than Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Rahul Narwekar looking for the disqualification of Ajit Pawar and eight other MLAs who’ve taken oath as ministers within the Eknath Shinde-led authorities.

Jitendra Awhad, whom the NCP has appointed chief of opposition within the Maharashtra Assembly after Ajit Pawar joined the ruling alliance, delivered the petition at Narwekar’s residence late Sunday night time, as per sources. When contacted, Narwekar’s workplace confirmed the petition has been acquired.

On Monday, the Sharad Pawar-led occasion additionally issued notices to the 9 MLAs asking them to chorus from misrepresenting earlier than any discussion board the truth that they’ve any affiliation with the NCP.

The letter issued by state unit chief Jayant Patil mentioned “Any such misrepresentation would be absolutely unlawful and illegal”. The letter additionally mentioned the “party on Sunday has, therefore, initiated appropriate proceedings for formal disqualification of these MLAs from the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly under the 10th Schedule of the Constitution of India”.

The NCP’s disciplinary committee had handed a decision on Sunday to disqualify the 9 legislators and committee chief Jaiprakash Dandegaonkar had submitted a report on it to Sharad Pawar.

“These actions of the nine MLAs call for immediate disqualification as not only are such defections ipso facto seriously damaging to the party but also that if allowed to continue as members, there is a very real likelihood that they will continue to try and undermine the interests of the party,” the decision mentioned.

The indisputable fact that these defections had been completed in such a secretive method, (*8*), quantities to desertion of the occasion which in flip invitations disqualification, it mentioned.

“We take cognisance of the same and direct appropriate steps may be taken in accordance with the party constitution and rules as also the tenth schedule of the Constitution of India. As per the procedure, party president Sharad Pawar has been informed and consulted for the same,” the decision mentioned.

Read: Next Opposition meet to be held in Bengaluru on July 17-18: Congress

Maharashtra NCP president Jayant Patil on Sunday mentioned his occasion has moved the disqualification petition against Ajit Pawar and eight others. He mentioned an e-mail has additionally been despatched to the Election Commission of India informing that the rank and file of the NCP is with occasion chief Sharad Pawar.

The occasion based by Sharad Pawar in 1999 suffered a vertical break up on Sunday after his nephew Ajit Pawar broke ranks and joined the Shiv Sena-BJP authorities as deputy chief minister. Eight other NCP MLAs, together with staunch Sharad Pawar loyalists like Chhagan Bhujbal and Dilip Walse Patil, had been made ministers.

(With inputs from PTI)

Nilesh Desai
Nilesh Desai
The Hindu Patrika is founded in 2016 by Mr. Nilesh Desai. This website is providing news and information mainly related to Hinduism. We appreciate if you send News, information or suggestion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Trump shooter Thomas Matthew Crooks’ father breaks his silence, says…

Matthew Brian Crooks, father of Thomas Matthew Crooks,...

OnePlus Open 2 Set For Big Changes In Battery And Cameras: What We Expect To See

Last Updated: July 24, 2024, 12:31 IST(*2*)The next-gen...

Nepal: Saurya Airlines flight with 19 people crashes in Kathmandu

A aircraft crashed on the Tribhuvan International Airport...