Know polling date, schedule, candidates, past results


The BJP introduced its eighth record of candidates on Saturday for the Lok Sabha elections in 2024. This record included candidates from 6 seats in Punjab, 3 in Odisha and a pair of in West Bengal.

One of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies within the state, Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Constituency in Punjab, may have elections this 12 months. The Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2024 will happen on April 19, 2024 (Phase I). The results of the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2024 can be introduced on June 4th.

The state has 13 Lok Sabha constituencies. The Gurdaspur seat contains 9 Assembly segments together with Sujanpur, Bhoa, Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Dina Nagar, Qadian, Batala, Fatehgarh Churian and Dera Baba Nanak. 

The constituency is open to all candidates and isn’t unique to members of Scheduled Tribes or Castes (SCs or STs). The main political events within the constituency are the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Congress, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Gurdaspur was represented by BJP’s Vinod Khanna 4 occasions: in 1998, 1999, 2004, and 2014. The seat was gained 5 occasions in a row by Congress candidate Sukhbuns Kaur in 1980, 1984, 1989, 1991, and 1996.

On Saturday, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) launched its eighth record of candidates for the Lok Sabha, which included a major alternative. Dinesh Singh ‘Babbu’ changed Sunny Deol, the MP for Gurdaspur, because the occasion’s nominee from the Gurdaspur constituency in Punjab.  

Punjab: Check BJP’s eighth record of candidates for Lok Sabha elections 2024

  • Gurdaspur: Dinesh Singh ‘Babbu’
  • Amritsar: Taranjit Singh Sandhu
  • Jalandhar (SC): Sushil Kumar Rinku
  • Ludhiana: Ravneet Singh Bittu
  • Faridkot (SC): Hans Raj Hans
  • Patiala: Preneet Kaur

Past Results

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, Sunny Deol, BJP candidate and Bollywood actor gained the seat for the primary time with a margin of 82,459 votes. With 5,58,719 votes, he had a 50.58% vote share. He defeated Sunil Jakhar, a candidate for Congress with 4,76,260 votes (43.12%). 11,03,887 reputable votes have been solid in whole.

In 2014, Vinod Khanna, a BJP candidate, gained the seat 4 occasions within the Lok Sabha Elections 2014. With 4,82,255 votes, he had a 46.25% vote share. Partap Singh Bajwa, a candidate for the Congress, completed second with 3,46,190 votes (33.20%). Bajwa misplaced to Khanna by a complete of 1,36,065 votes. 10,42,699 legitimate votes have been solid on this constituency general. With 1,73,376 votes (16.63%), Sucha Singh Chhotepur, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate, completed third.

Gurdaspur Past Winners

  • Sunil Jakhar (Congress): 2017 bypoll
  • Vinod Khanna (BJP): 2014
  • Partap Singh Bajwa (BJP): 2009
  • Vinod Khanna (BJP): 2004
  • Vinod Khanna (BJP): 1999
  • Vinod Khanna (BJP): 1998
  • Sukhbuns Kaur Bhinder (Congress): 1996
  • Sukhbuns Kaur Bhinder (Congress): 1992
  • Sukhbuns Kaur Bhinder (Congress): 1989
  • Sukhbuns Kaur Bhinder (Congress): 1985
  • Sukhbuns Kaur Bhinder (Congress): 1980
  • Yagya Datt Sharma (BLD): 1977

Nilesh Desai
Nilesh Desai
The Hindu Patrika is founded in 2016 by Mr. Nilesh Desai. This website is providing news and information mainly related to Hinduism. We appreciate if you send News, information or suggestion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this