Check polling date, candidates listing, past election results


Chennai South Lok Sabha Election 2024: All 39 seats in Tamil Nadu will go to the polls within the first part on April 19.

Chennai South Lok Sabha Election 2024: The Chennai South constituency will host Lok Sabha elections this 12 months. Tamil Nadu will go to polls on April 19 in a single part of polling. Chennai South is one in every of Tamil Nadu’s Lok Sabha seats. There are 39 legislative seats within the state. 

A 3-way direct race is being ready for the South Chennai Parliament seat, identified for its top-tier academic establishments and IT companies. The ruling DMK, AIADMK, and BJP are set to have interaction in a fierce battle within the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections, with two well-known feminine leaders and a former MP looking for to win.

The elections shall be held in seven phases for the 543 parliamentary constituencies, with the primary one going down on April 19 and the final one on June 1. Phase 1 polling is scheduled for April 19, Phase 2 on April 26, Phase 3 on May 7, Phase 4 on May 13, Phase 5 on May 20, Phase 6 on May 25, and Phase 7 on June 1.

From Chennai South, a most of 17 nominations have been obtained. Among those that submitted their nominations have been Tamilisai Soundararajan of the BJP, J. Jayavardhan of the AIADMK, and Tamizhachi Thangapandian of the DMK.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday launched a listing of 9 Lok Sabha candidates for Tamil Nadu fielding former Telangana Governor and social gathering chief Tamilisai Soundarajan from Chennai South and social gathering’s state chief Okay Annamalai from Coimbatore.Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting L Murugan shall be within the fray from Nilgiris. 

According to the listing, senior leaders AC Shanmugam will contest from Vellore and Pon Radhakrishnan from Kanniyakumari. Vinoj P Selvam will contest from Chennai Central, C Narasimhan from Krishnagiri, TR Paarivendhar from Perambalur and Nainar Nagendran from Thoothukkudi.Soundararajan resigned from her publish as Telangana Governor on Monday. 

This is BJP’s third listing for Lok Sabha polls. All 39 seats in Tamil Nadu will go to the polls within the first part on April 19. 

During the 2019 common elections, the DMK-led Secular Progressive Alliance, which comprised Congress, VCK, MDMK, CPI, CPI(M), IUML, MMK, KMDK, TVK, AIFB, registered a landslide victory by successful 38 of the 39 seats.

In 2019, DMK received 23 Lok Sabha seats with 33.2 per cent vote share, Congress bagged 8 seats with 12.9 per cent vote and CPI received two seats in Tamil Nadu.The election for 543 Lok Sabha seats within the nation shall be held in seven phases beginning April 19.Nearly 97 crore voters are eligible to forged vote within the common election.

(With inputs from ANI)

Nilesh Desai
Nilesh Desai
The Hindu Patrika is founded in 2016 by Mr. Nilesh Desai. This website is providing news and information mainly related to Hinduism. We appreciate if you send News, information or suggestion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this