Check key candidates, date of voting and other important details


The Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency is a big battleground because it holds historic significance.

The date for the essential elections in Karnataka’s Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha seat has been set for April twenty sixth, 2024. This constituency is a big battleground because it holds historic significance. The Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency, previously often called Mangalore Lok Sabha constituency, emerged in 2008 in the course of the restructuring of parliamentary constituencies. Since its inception in 2009, it has been a stronghold for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), with Nalin Kumar Kateel serving as its first Member of Parliament (MP).

In the earlier Lok Sabha elections held in 2019, Nalin Kumar Kateel secured an enormous victory, garnering 774,285 votes in opposition to Mithun M Rai of the Congress, who managed to safe solely 499,664 votes. The margin of victory was a staggering 274,621 votes, solidifying Kateel’s dominance within the area.

Similarly, within the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Kateel emerged victorious in opposition to Congress candidate Janardhana Poojary by a margin of 143,709 votes. With 642,739 votes in his favour, Kateel showcased the BJP’s stronghold within the constituency.

With the upcoming elections, political events are gearing up for intense campaigning and strategizing to safe victory in Dakshina Kannada. As the voting date approaches, all eyes can be on this constituency to see if the BJP can keep its stronghold or if there can be a shift in energy dynamics.

Nilesh Desai
Nilesh Desai
The Hindu Patrika is founded in 2016 by Mr. Nilesh Desai. This website is providing news and information mainly related to Hinduism. We appreciate if you send News, information or suggestion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this