Maharashtra election results: BJP, Sena look on course to retain power


* According to the latest Election Commission trends for Maharashtra, the BJP is leading in 99 constituencies, Shiv Sena in 60, NCP in 48 and the Congress in 40.
* Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, who is contesting from Nagpur South-West Constituency, is leading after the 2nd round of counting.
* Congress candidate from Solapur Central Praniti Shinde, daughter of former home minister and Congress leader Sushilkumar Shinde, is trailing.
* Leader of opposition in the Legislative Council Dhananjay Munde was leading over his rival and BJP minister Pankaja Munde in Parli.
* Of the trends in 81 of 288 assembly seats available so far, the BJP is leading in 26, Shiv Sena in 22, while opposition Congress is ahead in seven seats and NCP in 17. The Independents were ahead in four seats.
* BJP leader and Maharashtra housing minister Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil leads in Shirdi Assembly seat over his nearest Congress rival Suresh Thorat.
* Shiv Sena’s Aaditya Thackeray establishes a comfortable lead in Worli assembly constituency where he is making his electoral debut. Aaditya is the first member of the Thackeray family to contest an election and a win for him could redefine the party’s politics in the state.
* As per the official trends in 59 of 288 assembly seats of Maharashtra, the BJP is leading in 21 seats, Shiv Sena in 13, Congress in 5, NCP in 15 and Independents in 4 seats.
* According to the Election Commission official trends for Maharashtra assembly elections, the BJP is leading in 15 constituencies, Shiv Sena in 11 constituencies, Congress in 3 constituencies and the NCP is leading in 9 constituencies
* Shiv Sena MLA Balaji Kinikar is leading in Ambernath constituency while BJP leader Ravindra Chavan is leading in Kalyan rural seat.
* As per the official trends from the Election Commission, the NDA is leading in Maharashtra
* Trends at 8.30am show a BJP-Sena surge in Maharashtra assembly elections. The alliance is ahead with leads in 63 seats while the Congress-NCP is ahead in 22 seats. The majority mark in the state is 145.
* Early trends show that the BJP+ is leading in over 14 seats in Maharashtra; Congress ahead in two, so far
* Counting of votes for Maharashtra assembly polls and Satara Lok Sabha bypoll begins.
* Exit polls have predicted that the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance will retain power comfortably.
* Counting of votes for the 288 Assembly segments will be conducted at 269 locations, the officials said.
* The polling held on Monday saw a voter turnout of 61.13 per cent, a dip from the 63.20 per cent recorded in 2014.
* The ruling BJP-Shiv Sena combine is arrayed against the opposition Congress-NCP with the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi being the dominant player among the other parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here